Metal Blade Records sign Lazarus A.D.

Metal Blade Records has signed Kenosha, WI-based Lazarus A.D.

The band had this to say regarding the signing:

We are extremely stoked about being a part of the Metal Blade family. It is a great home for us, and we know together we are going to accomplish everything we have set out to do and so much more. When the record is released, I don’t think we are gonna see home much, we plan to tour for pretty much the rest of our natural lives!

Source Continue reading Metal Blade Records sign Lazarus A.D.

Young Widows: “Old Skin” / “The Heat Is Here”

Young Widows have posted two songs from their upcoming full length Old Wounds, due September 9th on Temporary Residence. As previously reported, the album was recorded over four live shows and nine days at God City studios with Kurt Ballou (Converge). You can check out “Old Skin” and “The Heat Is Here” at MySpace.

The Louisville, KY band released Settle Down City in 2006 via Jade Tree.
Source Continue reading Young Widows: “Old Skin” / “The Heat Is Here”

Rise Against unveil “Appeal To Reason” artwork

Rise Against has posted the cover art for their upcoming record Appeal To Reason. The record, due out October 7th, follows up 2006’s The Sufferer & the Witness. The band recorded with Bill Stevenson (Black Flag, Descendents) and Jason Livermore at the Blasting Room in Ft. Collins, CO — the same production team and studio used for The Sufferer & the Witness and Revolutions Per Minute.

The popular Chicago act also recently released the dates for their tour with Alkaline Trio, Thrice and Gaslight Anthem.
Source Continue reading Rise Against unveil “Appeal To Reason” artwork

Wreck The Place / Punk International relaunches as podcast

Wreck the Place, the webzine formerly known as Punk International, has recently relaunched as a podcast. The audio features will be hosted by Derek Atkinson and site founder Tim Krysko, the man behind Punknews’ International Spotlight series from a few years back. Their first show carries on this tradition and features Fokofpolisiekar (South Africa), Os Contribuintes (Brazil), Zuname (Russia), and more.

You can find the first episode here.
Source Continue reading Wreck The Place / Punk International relaunches as podcast

Equal Vision to release new Portugal. The Man full length

Wasilla, AK’s Portugal. The Man and their label / publishing company Approaching AIRBalloons has inked a deal with Equal Vision to release the band’s third full length Censored Colors on September 16th. In their press release the label celebrates the uniqueness of the deal, although the particulars are unknown at this time:

One of the factors that makes this partnership so unique is that the members of Portugal. The Man will share in the risk as well as in the rewards with Equal Vision, something that is easier for a Platinum act (like Radiohead) than a developing artist. Having self-financed the “Censored Colors” album, and while they had other label options, P.TM welcomed the idea of having an “open canvas” with Equal Vision, where they could work at their own pace and be intimately involved in all factors of their recording career.

The band previously released the full lengths Waiter: ‘You Vultures!’ (2006) Church Mouth (2007) along with three EPs: 2006’s The Pines, the Devil and Devil Say I, I Say Air and 2007’s It’s Complicated Being a Wizard.

Portugal. The Man is currently on the road wit the Rx Bandits and will soon tour Europe. The fall will see a 38 city headlining tour of the US with support from Earl Greyhound and Wintersleep.
Source Continue reading Equal Vision to release new Portugal. The Man full length

Zebrahead: “Phoenix”

La Habra, CA’s Zebrahead are now streaming their entire new record Phoenix online at Fuse.

The CD / DVD set features 16 new songs and the Broadcast To The World DVD of live footage, and music videos. The release features production work by Cameron Webb and Howard Benson and art by Shawn Harris of The Matches. The set will be released on August 5th by ICON Music Entertainment. The band recently announced US tour dates in support of the record.
Source Continue reading Zebrahead: “Phoenix”

The Real McKenzies: “Chip”

Vancouver, BC’s The Real McKenzies have released the second song from their upcoming album Off the Leash, due out August 05, 2008. The track, titled “Chop” is available to download from download from Fat Wreck Chords’ website along with the previously released “The Lads Who Fought & Won.”

Off The Leash is the follow-up to 10,000 Shots which was released in 2005.
Source Continue reading The Real McKenzies: “Chip”

Wolves & Thieves / Bastards of Young gear up to support new split LP

The East Bay’s Wolves & Thieves and Sacramento’s Bastards of Young, will release a new split LP on August 12. The first batch of 200 will be available on gold vinyl and all purchases will come with a free digital download that includes a special bonus track. Swagger City Records is handling the release and has more details on their website.

Both bands will be supporting the release with upcoming tours. Wolves & Thieves will hit the road with Ceremony, and have apperances coming up at The Force’s reunion show and at Tiger Army‘s OCtoberflame 2008. Bastards Of Young will share the stage with Hear The Sirens on a number of dates.
Source Continue reading Wolves & Thieves / Bastards of Young gear up to support new split LP

Minus-One, Fuckin’ Gnarly, Empty Orchestra

San Francisco skate rock act Minus-One will release their first full length CD The Kids Dont Skate Here on DC-Jam Records in Mid September. The trio will begin touring both the US and Europe on Sept 22. Dates and venues will be announced soon via MySpace.

Flint, Michigan’s Fuckin’ Gnarly have teamed up with The Political Party to release a free digital EP this fall along with their first 7″ early next year. The band is set to hit the road this August, playing shows with bands like the Menzingers and After The Fall. Check their MySpace page for details

Also from Flint, Empty Orchestra is currently on tour across the US performing alongside bands like Lucero, Fiya, Anathallo, and A Static Lullaby. The band is supporting Here Lies Empty Orchestra, which was released last year on Thinker Thought Records. Check their MySpace page for details.
Source Continue reading Minus-One, Fuckin’ Gnarly, Empty Orchestra